About NAL

Role and Governance


NAL undertakes scientific investigations into hearing, hearing habilitation and rehabilitation, and the effects of noise on people, including the prevention of hearing loss. Some of NAL’s contributions to knowledge and clinical practice have been in:

  • The ‘NAL Prescriptions’, the series of hearing aid prescriptions, the most used methods to prescribe hearing aids worldwide.
  • COSI (the Client Oriented Scale of Improvement), the most used method for evaluating the success of hearing rehabilitation internationally.
  • LiSN-S, LiSN & Learn and Sound Storm, the first effective, evidence-based diagnosis and remediation for any form of auditory processing disorder.
  • HEARLab, a device for measuring cortical responses to sound which has enabled audiologists to work with infants too young to communicate verbally and with those suffering from dementia.
  • LOCHI (Longitudinal outcomes of hearing impaired children), the largest and only longitudinal study of its kind in the world which is providing valuable evidence-based data for developing improved rehabilitation strategies .


Ethical governance:

Ethical aspects of the research at NAL are governed by the Australian Hearing Human Research Ethics Committee.  The Committee operates in compliance with the National Statement of Ethical Conduct in Research Involving Humans (2007).

The role of the Committee

  • Protect the welfare and rights of participants in research undertaken by the National Acoustic Laboratories, or elsewhere within Australian Hearing.
  • Approve research by other institutions on Australian Hearing clients.
  • Ensure that all projects requiring ethics clearance have received approval from the Committee prior to the commencement of subject testing.
  • Monitor the progress of research projects to which it has given ethics approval.
  • Provide a mechanism to deal with complaints from participants of research projects, researchers or other interested parties about the conduct of the research.

Complaints from participants, researchers or other parties should be directed to the Secretary of the Ethics Committee, Dr Tim Gainsford (02 9412 6862).

The current membership of the Committee is:

Dr John Quilter – Chair
Rev Philip Bradford
Mr Richard Brading
Dr Teresa Ching
Dr Gitte Keidser
Ms Alison King
Dr John Mack
Dr Catherine McMahon
Prof Di Yerbury